EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW:GHANAIAN FILM PRODUCER CHRISTABLE KYE TALKS ABOUT LONG LASTING CAREER AND THE FUTURE

Posted on Updated on

55

 

Christabel Kye has been around the film industry for as long as she can remember. With several movies and soapies under her belt, she has seen many of the ups and downs one must endure when pursuing a career in the film industry. She has seen lots of hopefuls come in and out of the Ghanaian film industry and sometimes introduced some of them to it. She confesses it takes a lot of talent and learning to be in the business. She has written local soapies like Taxi Driver, Small World, Chorkor Trotro among others and produced movies like Love and Crime, Hotel Babylon, Letters to my mother

 

Hotel Babylon penned by Kobi Rana definitely put Kye into the big leagues in the industry. Presently, she is the producer of tv’s  hourly show ” trailer tv”.Haute Spott caught up with her in this exclusive to discuss how her career has developed up to this point and what her expectations are for the future.

 

HS: When did you first become interested in films?

CK: I have always loved films especially comedies I know it is a bit clichéd but it is what it is.

6a

 

HS: Did you have any specific influences growing up that lead you towards the film industry? CK: I had none at all but mere fascination turned me toward that direction. I love to see things come to life.

 

HS: Did you always know what you wanted to do?

CK: No…first I wanted to be a doctor, then I wanted to be a lawyer and when those dreams didn’t come through I opted for this. I must say I am glad I am now producing and writing. I do a kick a** job at it.

 

HS: How long have you been doing this?

CK: Well, I have been doing it for the past 10 years. I have written soaps like small world, local series like Chorkor Trotro, Taxi Driver and several award winning series

 

HS: Was your family supportive of you choosing this direction?

CK: Yes, they were glad I chose to be a film maker. In fact they are my greatest critiques.

 

HS: You mean no opposition at all

CK: Yes, no opposition at all in fact they enrolled me into film school.

 

HS: Have you considered moving on to other careers? What keeps you persevering?

CK: Interesting….what keeps me going are the projects. Even though it is challenging sometimes. It is a daily excitement.

 

HS: How did you get your first break?

CK: I worked as a production assistant then I just tried to raise a little money and found I could write and produce. Then I set out to option a script.

 

HS: Was Taxi Driver the first piece you wrote? How did that come about?

CK: Yes, that was the first piece. It started out as an outrageously laugh out loud comedy. Originally back to back comedy but the end result was a combination of many things including too much comedy.

 

HS: How do you handle disagreements you may have with studios, directors, etc.?

CK: Always with tact, but at the end of the day, it depends on who has the right to make the decision, and pretty much one can lobby against bad decisions, but we have to live with the powers that be.

 

HS: “Hotel Babylon” had a very good cast. It must be frustrating when such great expectations don’t go as planned. Do producers have much authority in film making today?

CK: It all depends on how the picture is financed, that is truly the key. Then besides that, it depends on how much say the director has.

 

HS: What criteria do you use to select a script, screenwriter, director, etc.?

CK: For the script, it has to be good, and that means many things. If a script can make you laugh and cry and has a great story, that is a start. With the director it is usually the amount of passion I can sense from him or her towards the project.

 

HS: Producers are risk-takers who seize an idea, run with it and convince others to follow them, agree?

CK: Yes, producers do take all the risk.

 

HS: Most of your films seem to have been in the comedy genre. Is this the genre you prefer? CK: There’s nothing like a good laugh. We all need that in our lives.

 

HS: Ok, what’s next? Anything else in the works?

CK: I have several projects in the works. Several that I am not allowed to talk about now but when the time is right I will give you that pleasure.

 

HS: Any advice for the upcoming ones?

CK: I f you have the talent, get an education because talent alone cannot get you anywhere.

 

HS: It was a real pleasure talking to you, Christabel?

CK: And the pleasure is all mine. Thank you

Leave a Reply

